top of page
  • Josh Bokor

Album Review: Foals - "Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part 1"

"Part 1" is the best Foals album in years. It can grow stale after multiple listens, but is still a very fun venture. It's exciting knowing that this is only half of the big picture.


Warner Music - 2019


The Oxford band known as Foals have been capturing the dance meets math rock sound that few bands have been able to claim in the past decade. They have been able to produce some stellar singles I've loved like "My Number" and "What Went Down." They have a definitive sound, but they've never been able to win me over over a full-length album. Until now? Yes! Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost Part 1 is the album where the band has finally won me over. Yay! Not only is this album full of fun, catchy songs full of personality, but its only half of the picture we are viewing. It's only half because this is the first half of a double album, while the latter is coming out this Fall. Everything Not Saved Part 1 is their best album in years. The songs have combined the rock and electronic elements smoothly, while being compelling and super catchy. 


     Let's start with the album's opener. "Moonlight" is a moody, synth-driven ballad. It's short and simple, nothing to ride home about. Next, is "Exits." A lengthy single, clocking in at six minutes. It's an expected rock tune from the band, although I wish the chorus was more compelling. I do love the heavy grooves on the back end of the track. "White Onions" is a punchy guitar-driven song that's also expected. It's super fun, has Yannis' loud and shouty delivery, has some great grooves. "In Degrees," a personal favorite, is a stunner, a club-friendly dance track. The most dance-oriented tune I've heard from the band and it has these elements perfectly. 


     "Syrups" gradually rises with its strings into an explosive performance from Yannis. "Cafe D'Athens" is very Radiohead-ish with its repetitive drumming and moaning vocals (King of Limbs-influenced). "On the Luna" is a radio-friendly synth-driven single and is definitely the poppiest of the bunch. "Sunday" is a lovely ballad that transforms into a club banger in the latter part of the song. "I'm Done With the World" is an emotional, lo-fi ballad that continues to get more and more intense with its blaring and almost ear-piercing synths.


     While I'm saying that this album is the best batch of songs I've heard from Foals, I'm not saying it's perfect by any means. When this album first came out, I was listening to it a lot and loving it. But with repeated listens and with more time passed, I find this album to be quickly disposable. I'm not writing this album off though. If you're a fan of Foals or this style of music, please give it a shot. Although they grow stale after multiple listens, Everything Not Saved Part 1 is still an very fun venture for Foals and is exciting knowing that this is only half of the big picture. We'll see how my opinion changes after listening to Part 2.



My Rating: 7 / 10



Favorite Songs: "In Degrees," "White Onions," "Sunday," "Exits," "Syrups"

6 views0 comments

Commenti


bottom of page