top of page
  • Josh Bokor

Album Review: Fiona Apple - "Fetch the Bolt Cutters"

Fetch the Bolt Cutters is a phenomenal experience that features raw, percussive explosiveness and an emotionally stirring Fiona Apple. She demands your attention through and through.


Epic - 2020

It's been eight years since we've last heard a new album from one of music's most iconic figures: miss Fiona Apple. Being one of the most prominent singer songwriters from the 90's, her discography is noticeably quite small (only four records since 2012) and each record spans several years in between each new release. Apple certainly takes her time to perfect her craft, one thing that I graciously respect of her. Her last record, The Idler Wheel..., is one of my favorites from Fiona Apple, approaching more emotional vocal performances and introducing raw, uncut sounds like "Hot Knife" and "Left Alone." Eight long years after The Idler Wheel... comes her brand spanking new fifth studio album, titled Fetch the Bolt Cutters. There are quite a few key differences from this new album, all of them I love. The album is much rawer than ever instrumentally with percussive heavy tracks that aren't from your typical instruments, like banging on bones, barking dogs and such. It goes all in on this style, similar to previous sounds in 2012, but now expanded much further. The whole record for the most part was recorded directly from her home (which currently resonates now more than ever). Apple's performances on the record are phenomenal, especially on the vocal and lyrical side of things. Her vocal takes are even more emotionally stirring and captivating while her lyrics range from female relationships to finally being free from hardships and mistreatment.


What makes Fetch the Bolt Cutters so incredible and special are the performances and the songs themselves. The flow on this record is nonstop, each song carrying remarkable details and memorable moments wether it be vocally, lyrically, instrumentally, or from the production choices. The album surely kicks off with a bang. The opening track, "I Want You To Love Me," is arguably the album's best vocal performance. You can hear the urgency and demand from her voice, singing about her desires to make someone love her. It sounds like this love needs to happen over a classic piano delivery that should come as to no surprise. The next track, "Shameika," is my favorite track on the album (if I had to pick just one). Production wise, its groove is heavy, head bobbing and sounds kind of hip hop inspired to me. At its core, it has the traditional speedy piano, handclaps, and backing vocals. The track is about Apple's past troubles being bullied at school. There's one person that sees potential in her and that's Shameika. She doesn't really know Shameika, she was never a friend, and she only remembers this one instance from her. But this potential is so memorable to her that it's stuck with her for decades to land on this album.


The title track features some of the most handmade sounds, featuring organic percussion, moody keys, and multiple dogs barking, one of them being Apple's dog. I love that flow and vibe of the track. It's whimsical and has a dreamy quality to it. "Under the Table" has one of the more explosive deliveries on the record with one of my favorite lines: "I would beg to disagree but begging disagrees with me." There are actually so many great lines from this record, that I included a list of my favorites at the bottom of the review. Another great explosive track is the powerful "Heavy Balloon" with whirring synths and a screeching vocal delivery in its chorus that I love. "Relay" has these amazing melodies and harmonies and gallops in a much darker manner despite the peppy pacing. "Ladies" is an ode to the females who were accused of cheating even though they aren't at fault in this case. "Cosmonauts" reminds me of past piano ballads from her that are sweeter and catchier. I love the hooks on "Drumset" as well (they're also reminiscent her older material). "For Her" has these chilling layered vocal harmonies (similar to those on "Hot Knife") that shifts to much more chilling lyrics: "Good morning, you raped me in the same bed your daughter was born in." The album's closer, "On I Go," is a shadowy track that repeats chants of moving to move, not going toward or away.


From start to finish, I am blown away by this album. Every song on here is fantastic and incredible to hear with memorable moments spread throughout the record. Fiona Apple's approach to the raw, organic instrumentation matched with her explosiveness is absolutely phenomenal. Her past records are great listens through and though, but I feel that Fetch the Bolt Cutters is explored to new lengths and delivered perfectly. Not only are there great lyrical gems scattered throughout, but many of the sounds are diamonds in the rough, meant to be discovered on later listens, which leans towards repeated listens. It feels like it's been a lengthy eight years in the making. Fetch the Bolt Cutters sounds like a bottled up Fiona Apple that has been waiting until now to finally explode and be free. She demands your attention through and through.



My Rating: 9 / 10



Favorite Songs: "Shameika," "I Want You To Love Me," "Relay," "Heavy Balloon," "Fetch the Bolt Cutters," "Under the Table"



Since there are so many great lyrical moments from Fetch the Bolt Cutters, here are some of my favorites off of the album:


"My dog and my man and my music is my holy trinity"

- "Shameika"


"I grew up in the shoes they told me I could fill, shoes that were not made for running up that hill, but I need to run up that hill, I need to run up that hill"

- "Fetch the Bolt Cutters"


"Evil is a relay sport when the one who's burned turns to pass the torch"

- "Relay"


"Check out that rack of his, look at that row of guitar necks, lined up like eager fillies, outstretched like legs of Rockettes"

- "Rack of His"


"I spread like strawberries, I climb like peas and beans, I've been sucking it in so long, that I'm bursting at the seams"

- "Heavy Balloon"


"I would beg to disagree, but begging disagrees with me"

- "Under the Table"


"Good morning, good morning, you raped me in the same bed your daughter was born in"

- "For Her"


"Now I understand you're human, and you've got to lie, you're a man"

- "Drumset"



16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page